May 2013 Write On! Radio Archives

We speak with Sarah Stonich about her new novel Vacationland. She is also the author of the internationally acclaimed novels These Granite Islands, and The Ice Chorus, as well as the memoir, Shelter.

We also speak with Brad Parks about his new book The Good Cop, his fourth Carter Ross mystery. He is also the author of the award-winning Faces of the Gone, The Girl Next Door, and Eyes of the Innocent.

We speak with acclaimed author James Kelman about his new novel Mo said she was quirky. He is the Booker Prize-winning author of How Late it Was, How Late, and has also written short stories, plays and other novels, including the award-winning Greyhound for Breakfast and A Disaffection, which was short-listed for the Man Booker Prize.

We speak with David Poyer about his new book The Whiteness of the Whale. He is the author of more than 30 novels, including the Dan Lenson series and the Lyle “Tiller” Galloway series, both of which are American sea fiction in the tradition of Herman Wouk and Joseph Conrad.

We also speak with Fiona Maazel about her new book Woke Up Lonely. She is the author of Last Last Chance, and has won the Bard Prize for Fiction. She was also a National Book Foundation “5 under 35” honoree.

We speak with Margalit Fox about her new book The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code. She is a New York Times award-winning journalist who also wrote Talking Hands: What Sign Language Reveals About the Mind.

We also speak with Arlene Marks about her new book From First Word to Last: The Craft of Writing Popular Fiction. She is an author, editor and teacher of literacy and writing.