1/28/2009 Rockin' In Rhythm


Welcome to the 3rd annual Dearly Departed Show. Jackson Buck joins me in the studio for this show as usual. All the music this morning is by artists, performers or songwriters, who passed away in 2008.

The Fi-Tones – wake Up – Foolish Dreams – Relic (Marlowe A. Murray)

Ruby the Romantics – Our Day Will Come – Early Girls – Ace (co-written by Mort Garson)

Brook Benton – Kiddio – Best of Brook Benton – Mercury (written by Clyde Otis)

Brook Benton – Endlessly – same as above

Freddie the Bell Boys – Hound Dog – Rockin is Our Business – Bear Family (Freddie Bell)

Johnny Bond – Hot Rod Lincoln – Country Magic – Tele-House (co-written by Charlie Ryan)

Oscar McLollie – Roll Hot Rod Roll – Long Gone Daddies – Ace (Oscar McLollie)

Ray Kane – Popoki Slack Key – Wa’ahila – Dancing Cat (Ray Kane)

Al Wilson – Show Tell – Chart Busters – Laser Light (Al Wilson)

Jerry Wallace – Primrose Lane – 45 Challenge (Jerry Wallace)

Eddy Arnold – Cattle Call – Pure Gold – RCA (Eddy Arnold)

Jimmy McGriff – I’ve Got a Woman – Greatest Hits – Blue Note (Jimmy McGriff)

Bo Diddley – Bo Diddley – 16 Greatest Hits – Checker (Bo Diddley)

Johnny Otis Band – Harlem Nocturne – RB Caravan – Savoy (written by Earl Hagen)

Lula Reed – I’m a Woman, But I Don’t Talk – Sonny Thompson EP – See for Miles (Lula Reed)

Dixie Humming Birds – Christian Automobile – Best of Dixie Humming Birds – MCA (Ira B. Tucker Sr.)

Oscar McLollie – Lolly Pop – Let’s Jump – Ace (Oscar McLollie)

Hollywood Flames – Buzz Buzz Buzz – Ebb Record Story – Specialty (Earl Nelson)

Quintones – Down the Aisle of Love – Red Top Records – Relic (Jeanne Fells)

Capris – Moon Out Tonight – Doo Wop Box 1 – Rhino (Vinnie Naccarato)

5 Royales – dedicated to the One I Love – It’s Hard but Fair – Ace (Jimmy Moore)

Edsels – Rama Lama Ding Dong – Doo Wop Box 1 – Rhino (George Jones, also wrote the song)

Fi-Tones – My Tired Feet – Foolish Dreams – relic (Marlowe A. Murray)

Four Fellows – Soldier Boy – Glory Records – Relic (Jimmy McGowan)

J. Giles Band – Centerfold – Freeze Frame – EMI (Betty Page Carol Vitale, playmates)

Jody Reynolds – Endless Sleep – 45 Demon (Jody Reynolds)

Wayne Fontana he Mindbenders – The Game of Love – British Invasion – Hip-O (written by Clint Ballard)

Jo Stafford/Johnny Mercer – It’s Great to be Alive – Jo Stafford Collectors Series (Jo Stafford)

Connie Haines – Snooty Little Cutie – Incomparable Tommy Dorsey -RCA (Connie Haines)

Page Cavanaugh –

Danny the Juniors – At the Hop – Time Life RR (Artie Singer, produced this

May the list be shorter next year.

David C

Playlist Tracks: 
Air Date: 
January 28, 2009

Rockin' In Rhythm Archives