11/21/2013 Fresh Fruit


Fresh Fruit: 35 Years of Queer Radio (2013), produced by Dixie Treichel

Photo from Equal Time, 1988, Fresh Fruit celebrating 10 years. L-R: Steve LaVigne, Gary Peterson, Claude Peck. Courtesy of The Tretter Collection.

Fresh Fruit: 35 Years of Queer Radio is a 30 minute audio documentary about the history of Fresh Fruit, the longest running queer radio show in the country. Fresh Fruit first aired on KFAI on May 11, 1978 and has been live on air weekly with the same name and format for 35 years. Fresh Fruit is not a radio magazine. It is a live community, culture and arts show that has held its grass roots approach for all these years. 

The piece is an overview of Fresh Fruit from 1978-2013, including the planning process prior to going on air in 1977. The original Fresh Fruit Collective 1977-78 is Ted Faigle, Mark Matthiessen (Maya), Richard MacDougall (Shannon), Kirk Hoffmeier (deceased). The piece includes interviews with hosts from the 35 years, some archival sound and narration. 

Fresh Fruit host voices heard on Fresh Fruit: 35 Years of Queer Radio: (alphabetical order) - Roxanne Anderson, Leigh Combs, Debbie Davis, Ted Faigle, Peter Gokey, Kim Hines, John Killacky, Steve LaVigne, Richard MacDougall, Mark Matthiessen, Patricia Nelson, Claude Peck, Gary Peterson, Eleanor Savage, Marj Schneider, Norman Strizek, John Townsend, Dixie Treichel, Rob Yeager.

Other Voices heard: Jeremy Nichols, KFAI board member; Quentin Crisp, Lily Tomlin, archival audio. Archival audio used with permission of The Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Studies and Dixie Treichel.

Treichel plans an independent longer version for a future broadcast. She is currently doing research at The Tretter Collection and plans more interviews with hosts and listeners not included in this version and to delve deeper into the archives for added audio in the longer documentary.

KFAI, Fresh Fruit: 35 Years of Queer Radio was produced for the program MinneCulture. MinneCulture programs are part of KFAI's Legacy Project, which highlights Minnesota arts, culture, music and history. KFAI is part of the AMPERS/IPR network (Association of Minnesota Public Educational Radio Stations/Independent Public Radio), and all Legacy Project programs are uploaded to the AMPERS  and Public Radio Exchange websites.

Funding for MinneCulture comes from KFAI listeners, and the Minnesota Arts and Cultural Heritage Foundation.



Playlist Tracks: 
Judy Garland, B52s, Angela Motter, Tori Fixx, Josie Cotton, Ochi, David Bowie, Diana Ross, Scott Free, Gaye Adegbalola, Candye Kane, Lou Reed, DDC, Sandy Rapp, Romanovsky & Phillips, RuPaul - Fresh Fruit Third Thursday Theme
Album: collage by Dixie Treichel; Label: self release
Mary Watkins, music & lyrics; performed by Linda Tillery lead vocals, drums; Diane Lindsay, bass, vocals; Mary Watkins, acoustic piano, Fender Rhodes, vocals; Gwen Avery & Theresa Trull, vocals - Don't Pray for Me
Album: Lesbian Concentrate: A Lesbianthology of Songs and Poems; Label: Olivia Records
Dixie Treichel, producer - Fresh Fruit: 35 Years of Queer Radio
Album: audio documentary; Label: self release
Fresh Fruit hosts Claude Peck & Gary Peterson - Fresh Fruit archival audio & Interview excerpt with Councilman Brian Coyle by Gary Peterson
Album: archival audio Fresh Fruit, 1986, courtesy of The Tretter Collection; Label: self release
The Kinks - Lola
Album: Lola versus Powerman and the Money-Go-Round, Part One; Label: Reprise / Wea