1/8/2013 The Morning Blend


Janis Lane-Ewart of KFAI's Collective Eye provides the music, and Bob Hines delivers the news on today's show.

We'll hear from Minnesota legislative leaders and Capitol Correspondent Marty Owings on this first day of the 2013 Legislative session.  We'll also hear the latest installment of the Lake Superior Project from community station WTIP in Grand Marais, and get our weekly moment of purposeful nonsense from the staff of KOEH in Dipperville. 

Playlist Tracks: 
Abbey Lincoln - Lonesome Cup of Coffee
Album: Abbey Lincoln's Affair; Label: American Jazz Classics
Sunny Sumter - Daydream
Album: Sunny; Label: Mapleshade
Andy McKee Quintet - Hilltop Stomp
Album: Sound Roots; Label: Mapleshade
Melba Liston - You Don't Say
Album: Melba Liston & Her Bones ; Label: Fresh Sound Records
Rahsaan Roland Kirk - You'll Never Get To Heaven
Album: Bright Moments; Label: Rhino
Don Byron - What Does It Take (To Win Your Love)
Album: Do the Boomerang; Label: EMI
Marc Pompe - Good Bait
Album: Hi-Fly; Label: Marc Pompe
Joel Brandon - The Whistler's Rhyme
Album: Haven't We All; Label: Southport
The Staples Singers - You've Got to Earn It
Album: Soulsville Sings Hitsville; Label: Stax
Harry Connick Jr. - Virgoid
Album: Occasion; Label: Marsalis Music
KOEH - Dipperville - Gouge Pharmaceuticals
Topics: Satire
The Lake Superior Project - WTIP - Grand Marais
Topics: Lake Levels
Rep. Paul Thissen - Legislative Preview
Topics: Lawmaking
Rep. Kurt Daudt - Legislative Preview
Topics: Lawmaking
Marty Owings - Legislative Preview
Topics: Lawmaking