Music Announcements

Americana darling Carrie Rodriguez:http://www.carrierodriguez.com stops by KFAI on Tuesday, July 26th at 2 p.m. to play live on Womenfolk! She’ll talk about her radio-charting CD she did with Romantica’s:http://www.romanticamusic.com Ben Kyle and what else is coming up for this hot young star. Hope you can catch this KFAI exclusive live or archived:womenfolk!

Be sure and tune in Monday, July 25 at 2 p.m. when Rockin’ In Rhythm:http://www.kfai.org/rockininrhythm host David Cummings welcomes his friends Sherwin and Pam Linton to the studio. A Twin Cities country music legend, Sherwin has a new album out and will be hosting a CD release party later in the week, concurrent with the observance of his third annual 70th Birthday Party.

Experience a rupture in the time-space continuum as Jean of KFAI’s late Radio Rumpus Room:http://www.kfai.org/radiorumpusroom returns to host Jet Set Planet,:http://www.kfai.org/jetsetplanet the program that has occupied her old Friday night timeslot for the past 13 months.

The computer that generates KFAI’s mp3 archive files shut down very early Monday morning.

On the July 13 episode of Radio Pocho:http://www.kfai.org/radiopocho we’re excited to feature special guest Sandra Velasquez, lead singer of the New York-based group Pistolera. This band fuses Latin grooves like cumbia, rancheras, corridos with rock as well as a contemporary use of the accordion.

Tuesday, July 12th at 12 noon: Corazon Latino pays homage to the life of Argentine singer/songwriter, poet, and Messenger of Peace Facundo Cabral, who was brutally assassinated on July 9th after a concert in Guatemala City. We will also feature music from Venezuela and Colombia

Rene Marie:http://renemarie.com/ will be talking with Collective Eye:http://www.kfai.org/collectiveeye host, Janis Lane-Ewart, Saturday, July 9, 2011, in advance of her performance at the Dakota Jazz Club:http://dakotacooks.com on Tuesday, July 12th.

This week’s True Brit!:https://www.kfai.org/node/28990 will mark the one-year anniversary of the show! To mark the occasion, host Simon Husbands will be sharing cake, jelly, ice cream and fizzy pop with all of the True Brit! audience as he also serves up the best of British music — past, present and future! Join him as this weeks show celebrates all that is truly British — Friday at midnight!

Check out the Womenfolk archives:womemfolk of June 28 to hear this month’s featured artist perform live on KFAI! San Antonio-born, Austin-based songwriter Vanessa Lively:http://www.vanessalively.com stopped by on Tuesday, June 28 to play songs from her new album Uncovering Stones and talk about that night’s CD release show at the 318 Cafe:http://www.three-eighteen.com.

Musician, songwriter, producer, and former high school English teacher Kevin Steinman:http://www.kevinsteinman.com comes to KFAI Monday, June 27th, with handfuls of songs for your ears from 11am – 12pm.

Pages