Minnesota House Passes Marriage Bill



After a three hour debate on Thursday, May 9, the Minnesota House of Representatives passed the same sex marriage bill by a vote of 75-59.

At the start of the day it was unclear if any Republicans would vote in favor of the measure.  Eventually four of them did.  Republicans Jenifer Loon, David Fitzsimmons, Andrea Kieffer and Pat Garofalo voted for the bill. Democrats Mary Sawatzky and Patti Fritz were no votes.

Minnesota's House vote today brings the state one step closer to becoming the 12th state in the Union to allow same-sex marriage.

KFAI’s Christina Cerruti was at the capitol and talked to people who had gathered to show support for both sides while they were waiting for the vote.

Meanwhile, inside the house chamber, Republican Minority Leader Kurt Daudt explained why he would vote against the bill, and DFL Representative Tim Faust of the Hinckley area is also a Lutheran Pastor.  He explained his “yes” vote on the measure. 

Filed in: 
Loading Video...