Arts & Culture

SPOTLIGHT ON BLANK ON BLANK
Beastie Boys, Pete Seeger, Jonathan Alter, & Amber Heard on stuff.

Opening today’s program with a quick review of this week’s concert by Jesse Cook at the Pantages…and fellow Canadian compatriot, musician Joni Mitchell.

News Host: Flor Frey
Music Host: David Cummings
Producer: Mike Fischbein
Engineer: Mike Stapp

A roadtrip-zonked Dr. Strangedub sat this one out and handed the reins of The Echo Chamber over to the Swissmeister this week.Yeah, this playlist looks short, but that’s ‘cuz it’s got some really lo-o-o-ong tunes in it, including the 13+min. stretcher “Ethiopia/The Lower Ground” from Bill Laswell’s “Book of Exit: Dub Chamber 4” as well as some epic Orb, and reggae discomix showcase business from both Joe Gibbs and Greensleeves. Add in a couple of choice Waveform goodies from International Observer and Warp Technique, plus some live on-air mixology layering rhythmic Kev Hopper over some quite ambient Ben Neill for a good 4+min. (leading into the aforementioned Warp Technique) and a couple of newly-hatched Froggies made their EC debut, including “The Eye of Cyclophibius” and the Eastern-flavored ska thing that wrapped up the show. And that, dubheads, is the lo-o-o-ong and short of it. The Doc’ll be back next week.

We speak with David Poyer about his new book The Whiteness of the Whale. He is the author of more than 30 novels, including the Dan Lenson series and the Lyle “Tiller” Galloway series, both of which are American sea fiction in the tradition of Herman Wouk and Joseph Conrad.

We also speak with Fiona Maazel about her new book Woke Up Lonely. She is the author of Last Last Chance, and has won the Bard Prize for Fiction. She was also a National Book Foundation “5 under 35” honoree.

see play list below

Music host: Jean Silverberg
News host: Terry Carter
Producer: Ron Thums

Xonxaro Baro’s Gypsy Love Show

Xonxaro Baro means “the great trick.” This live performance of the Gypsy Love Show at Amsterdam Bar and Hall features music by the Bourgeoisie Bohemians—Balkan and Gypsy performers with a touch of French circus—with storytelling by Tansy Undercrypt. Also included are three recordings by Gypsy Mania from their self-titled release, including “Butterfly,” “East Hennepin” and “Blues de Paris.” Gypsy Mania is Glen Helgeson (guitar), Gary Schulte (violin), Reynold Philipsek (guitar/vocals), Jeff Brueske (acoustic bass), Michael Bissonnette (percussion) and James Allen (guitar). Produced for KFAI by Daniel Zamzow and Nancy Sartor.

 

Self Health Revolution

 

The hidden ingredient in our food that is causing us to get fat 3 simple things you can do to get fit and stay thin forever A forgotten remedy that will get rid of aches and pains forever One thing you can do now to extend your life by 15 years The #3 killer that nobody wants to talk about The little known reason most people feel tired and run down A cure that your doctor may not know about or can’t tell you What was recently found in our drinking water that no one yet knows about One thing that will instantly add vigor and passion to your sex life How unhappiness and stress may take 7 years off your lifespan.

Music Host: The Nighthawk
News Host: Edwin Allen
Producer: Siobhan Kierans

Pages