12/17/2009 Collective Eye

Program hosted by Bill Cottman.

12/17/2009 Rocket Ship Ska Trip

We’ve learned that No Doubt has a new 45 out and we don’t have it! But we DO have one of the cuts on it, and it appears in the first hour here, amongst choice works by the likes of The Skatalites, Carlos Malcolm, Millie Small, Intensified, The Selecter and others. In Hour 2… Can an oldie-but-goodie be a mere 10 years old? A jazz-trio-powered nugget from the early days of Shiina Ringo’s pro career kicks off a set of certifiable moldies by everybody from Tab Smith to Earl Bostic to Guy Lombardo, winding up with a merely 11-year-old side by Stereophonic Space Sound Unlimited. The 4(+1)-at-4 explores the 2Tone label (including choice non-ska works) and Fizzy returns with a remix of last week’s Lolli. Absolutely ‘F’-ervescent!

12/15/2009 Rhythm and Grooves

Paul Renz stopped by to talk about his new CD, In My Own Hands, and his CD Release Party at Brits n December 20.
Note: * = New, # = Twin Cities Artists

12/15/2009 Rollin' and Tumblin'

See Play List below.

12/14/2009 Jet Set Planet

The Fab Four(th) Dimension, Volume 4.

12/12/2009 Mostly Jazz

Jennifer Brian – guest hosts

12/11/2009 Fubar Omniverse

Bureaucracy Now!

12/10/2009 Collective Eye

New music from Stefon Harris, Positive Catastrophe, Omar Sosa, Joyce Randolph, Sachal Vasandani, Ramsey Lewis, Oran Etkin, and Freddie Hubbard.

12/10/2009 Rocket Ship Ska Trip

This week’s first hour opens with a set of 4+min. 1st-gen ska oldies, then features Stranger Cole and later Toots and the Maytals doing two different songs called We Shall Overcome, and mixes together 2 very similar Roy Richards/Baba Brooks Band collabs. After an all-over-the-map set in the Voovie Doo Lounge, we get to hear what has become Sherwood’s hour-2 hour-ender (all 18 seconds of it!) and the 4(+1)-at-4 features 2Tone, the era, but not actually the label! Well, the Mr. Review track may be stretching it a little. The Lollipop Of The Week spins its first-ever fictitious animated character, Fizzy, and everything now comes with track times!